First Impressions: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Demo

Posted: August 25, 2011 in PC, PS3
Tags: , , , , , , ,

For the Emperor!

The demo has two levels, one of which lets you dive-bomb with a jetpack.

I love Warhammer 40K. Well, probably. I’ve never played the tabletop game proper (not having the cash to spend on miniatures and paint – the 40K refers to the price, right?), I did play a lot of Space Hulk at my local game shop back in the day. I enjoy the line of novels, and Relic’s Dawn of War RTS games have been great, so I had to fire up and play the Space Marine demo when it came out yesterday (even putting aside time with the new Deus Ex to try it).

And how is it? I really dig it. The demo offers you two missions to sample the gameplay, letting you duke it out with Orks in both ranged and melee. Comparisons to Gears of War and other stop-n-pop shooters are exaggerated and untrue: there is no cover system (cover is for chicken-wusses). As an Imperial Space Marine, you’re expected to wade into combat and take the fight to your enemy, and holy crap, is it glorious. With your bolter (3 varieties of bolters, no less) and chainsaw-sword you can switch fluidly between shooty and slashy, with explosions of gore commonplace. It’s pretty over-the-top, and fits the 40K universe perfectly.

It’s a solid demo and well worth checking out. This is one of the most promising straight-up action games I’ve seen in a while. My only problem is that I had to disable V-Sync to play it, which occasionally led to choppy framerates. I’m not sure why V-Sync makes the non-menu graphics invisible.

Unleashing "fury" makes everything die EVEN FASTER.

Comments
  1. I wasn’t too crazy about the demo. I have no idea why I don’t really like it, it’s a game I should be in love with. Something just felt weird about it. Can’t pinpoint it exactly.

  2. Ever since Space Marine was announced last year, I’ve been hankering to play it, and the finished article is shaping up to be pretty fantastic. Although I found the demo a little clunky on the PS3, the PC version is exactly what I want it to be. I’m especially glad it doesn’t just feel like a console to PC port. Not that it makes a difference, I was hardly going to cancel my preorder ^^.

    Nice preview :). I look forward to reading the review when it’s out.

Leave a Reply

