First Impressions: Mortal Kombat

Posted: March 16, 2011 in PS3
Tags: , , , ,

Well, I decided to download the demo for the new Mortal Kombat from the PSN, to get a taste of testing my might.

I haven’t played a Mortal Kombat game in at least ten years, and it’s probably been at least five years since I’ve played a new fighting game. It’s far from my favorite genre, but I figured it would be worth it to revisit one of the classic games of my misspent youth.

Upon starting the demo, I was greeted with the title screen, chose the only available options ( FIGHT > LADDER) and was presented with the character select screen. The demo lets you choose from Scorpion, Sub Zero, Johhny Cage or Mileena. I chose Scorpion, as he’s been my favorite MK character for years, and also because I don’t think I could live with myself if I played as Johnny Cage.

Immediately after, I was dropped into a fight with Sub Zero. It was an easy fight, which is a good thing, because I had to figure the controls out. They’re responsive and solid, and I’m sure they’d be even better if I could have gone into training mode to figure out what I was doing. I like the controls – they’re fluid and easy to pick up, and I managed to figure out a couple of combos and throws (it wasn’t until the second fight that I learned how to block). For most of the fight, Sub Zero just stood there while I wailed on him (Sub Zero IQ perhaps? Couldn’t help myself). And when it came time to FINISH HIM…I punched him.

I really must learn how to perform fatalities.

The second fight was Scorpion vs. Scorpion. Ah, the mirror match. This one was kind of a pain, mostly because I couldn’t tell myself from…myself. However, it was nice to be challenged after the lobotomized Sub Zero beatdown, and I discovered Scorpion’s throw and TOASTY! moves. It was at this point that I really started to get a feel for the game. And I’ll be honest, I’m liking it.

Again I failed to perform a fatality (and honestly I never figured them out), but I did manage to get a combo breaker in during the Mileena fight. By now I’m noticing that Scorpion says the same “Vengeance will be mine!” before every match – hopefully we get a few more sound bites than that in the full version.

My two cents? The game looks to be shaping up nicely, with a lot of gameplay modes available (though blacked out for now) on the main menu, and the Krypt as shown in the trailer at the end of the demo looks to offer a lot of extra content, too. I do have to wonder why Sonya looks so much like Nina Williams from Tekken but…eh, who really cares?

Plus Kratos. Makes me proud to own a PS3.

Count me in for looking forward to the finished product.

Comments
  1. Sebastian Force says:

    umm…Move list? The fatalities are only like 4 directions and a button, and they’re all pretty easy to figure out, except for Millenas.

    You should try it again using the fatalities and the “X-ray moves” You will have a MUCH better time.

  2. Chad M. says:

    I found the Move list. I was just sort of rushing through the demo to check it out.

  3. marcsart says:

    looking forward to this game…

  4. marcsart says:

    me and my friend tore this demo up yesterday. Scorpion vs. Sub-Zero grudge matches FTW.

Leave a Reply

